ELLE Magazine’s 2012 Grand Prix Nonfiction Book of the Year

Unflinching in its portrayal, yet told with humor and compassion, Terry Helwig’s compelling memoir Moonlight on Linoleum explores a family’s inner and outer landscape of hope, despair and redemption. Growing up the oldest of six girls in the big-sky country of the American Southwest, Helwig describes her struggle to love and understand her troubled mother. Often left to care for the household and her younger sisters, Helwig forges an unbreakable bond with her sisters as the family moves from one oil town to another. Helwig’s coming-of-age memoir will make you laugh, cry and hunger for more.

Even if others abandon you, you must never abandon yourself.

In the tradition of The Glass Castle and The Liar’s Club, Terry Helwig’s memoir Moonlight on Linoleum is a poignant tribute to the bonds of family and the tenacity of love.

"The world needs Moonlight on Linoleum because…it is what redemption looks like." –From the Foreword by Sue Monk Kidd